back to projects

CSEM - Swatch Group

Swatch Group and CSEM are developing a Swiss made ecosystem for connected objects

Swatch Group and CSEM confirm that the two companies, who are long-term partners, are working on the development of a unique Swiss made ecosystem. It will be designed especially for the needs of small connected objects (Internet of things) and, naturally, first and foremost for watches. This platform will be built around a tailor made operating system that is completely new.

The main special features of this operating system will be as follows:

  • Swiss made
  • Security and absolute protection of data owing to the operating system’s independence and autonomy  as opposed to large international software corporations, mainly American.
  • Ultra-low power, in other words a system with ultra-low energy consumption which provides even greater self-sufficiency.
  • Durability, to counteract the planned and programmed obsolescence in the world of consumer electronics. The system is designed to last and does not need regular updates.
  • Transmission technologies using ultra-low-power Bluetooth.

The ecosystem, which is bespoke and designed right from the start for miniaturization, will consist of a combination of an operating system, integrated circuits for data processing and transmission, as well as development tools, all of which are optimized to operate together to maximize self-sufficiency and guarantee security. This will be the first time that such a holistic approach has been used anywhere in the world for connected objects. We are aiming to launch the first products by the end of 2018.

The operating system developed in partnership with CSEM is only the first stage and new future low-power-consumption applications are already planned by the two partners, thanks to their expertise in integrating small objects.

Swatch Group, which holds shares in CSEM, will, in particular, contribute its expertise in the key area of batteries, thanks to its Renata subsidiary, a company that specializes in the field but, more especially, in microbatteries intended for electronic applications, as well as the field of integrated circuits with EM Microelectronic, also a company of the Swatch Group.

Furthermore, the project will benefit from CSEM's leading position in the field of very-low-consumption circuits and systems, as well as its vast portfolio of technologies applied to connected objects.

Swatch Group and CSEM have often collaborated in the past, in particular on various watchmaking applications, including the development of silicon made components or integrated circuits.

www.csem.com

Other projects

Center of Excellence in Characterization

The Center of Excellence in Characterization (CEC) brings together experts and methods from CSEM, the Haute Ecole Arc (HE-Arc) and the Paul Scherrer Institute (PSI) in order to meet your requirements as fully as possible. The CEC provides you with easy access to the instruments used for materials characterization, high-resolution 3D imaging, dimensional measurement,
real-time analysis and failure-mode analysis.

Project details

1Drop Diagnostics

Saving lives through better and faster portable medical diagnostics

Project details

Kizy Tracking

Kizy Tracking is based in the Neode Technological and Industrial Park.

Project details

retour aux projets

CSEM - Swatch Group

Swatch Group et CSEM développent un écosystème Swiss Made pour les objets connectés.

Swatch Group et le CSEM confirment que les deux partenaires de longue date travaillent au développement d’un écosystème Swiss Made unique. Il sera spécialement conçu pour les besoins des petits objets connectés (Internet of things) et en premier lieu - bien sûr - pour les montres. Cette plateforme sera bâtie autour d’un système opérationnel sur mesure (Operating System) et totalement inédit.

Les spécificités principales de cet OS seront les suivantes :

  • Swiss made.
  • Sécurité et protection absolue des données, grâce à l’indépendance totale et l’autonomie de l’OS vis-à-vis des géants mondiaux des softwares, essentiellement américains.
  • Ultra low-power, soit une consommation énergétique du système ultra basse, qui permet encore de renforcer l’autonomie.
  • Durabilité, à l’opposé de l’obsolescence voulue et programmée du monde des consumer electronics. Le système est conçu pour durer et ne nécessite pas de mises à jour régulières.
  • Technologies de transmission ultra low-power bluetooth.

L’écosystème, sur mesure et pensé dès sa conception pour la miniaturisation, consistera en une combinaison d’un OS, de circuits intégrés pour le traitement et la transmission des données, ainsi que d’outils de développement, le tout étant optimisé de concert pour maximiser l’autonomie et garantir la sécurité. Cette approche holistique est une première mondiale pour les objets connectés. Nous visons le lancement des premiers produits pour la fin 2018.

Le système d’exploitation développé en partenariat avec le CSEM n’est qu’une première étape et de nouvelles futures applications à basse consommation d’énergie sont d’ores et déjà prévues entre les deux partenaires, grâce à leur savoir-faire dans l’intégration des petits objets.

Swatch Group, actionnaire de CSEM, apportera notamment son savoir-faire dans le domaine clé de la batterie grâce à sa filiale Renata, une entreprise spécialisée notamment dans les micro-piles destinées aux applications électroniques, ainsi que dans celui des circuits intégrés avec EM Microelectronic, également une société de Swatch Group.

En complément, le projet bénéficiera du leadership du CSEM dans les circuits et systèmes à très basse consommation, ainsi que de son vaste portefeuille de technologies adaptées aux objets connectés.

Swatch Group et le CSEM ont déjà souvent collaboré par le passé, notamment pour différentes applications horlogères, entre autres le développement de composants en silicium ou de circuits intégrés.

 

www.csem.com

Autres projets

Centre d’Excellence en Caractérisation

Le Centre d’Excellence en Caractérisation (CEC) réunit les experts du CSEM, de la Haute Ecole Arc (HE-Arc) et du Paul Scherrer Institute (PSI) et leur parc d’instruments de caractérisation pour répondre au mieux à votre demande. L’accès à ces équipements d’imagerie 3D à haute résolution, d’analyse des matériaux et de mesures dimensionnelles vous est désormais facilité.

Détails du projet

1Drop Diagnostics

Sauvons des vies grace à un meilleur et plus rapide diagnostic médical portable.

Détails du projet

Kizy Tracking

Kizy Tracking est hébergée au sein du parc technologique et industriel Neode.

Détails du projet